Today, I go to an open house at PCOM

Of all the medical colleges, I really *really* seriously want to be accepted into PCOM.

Today I’m going to an open house and I’m getting butterflies in my stomach.

Why, Deb? Your grades are above average for DO school. (3.692) Even the BCMP (almost 3.5)

You’ve volunteered in a clinical setting, you’re going to do research at school, you have done a lot of volunteering at church, you will (when you get off your ass,) get some good letters of recommendation.

There is no reason to be nervous. Go, be yourself (without the bathroom humor,) and just shine.

If they don’t like you, there’s no reason to try to fit in. If they do like you, so much the better.

Have I mentioned I really want to get into PCOM.

Here’s a link to their webpage http://www.pcom.edu/index.html

8 Responses to “Today, I go to an open house at PCOM”

  1. Deb Says:

    Hey thanks for stopping by my blog. You won’t believe this but I am VERY familiar with PCOM. I worked for a number of years placing their medical students in rural areas. I work for the Northcentral Area Health Education Center (AHEC) We still place their students but I’m now working on another project. If you happen to me Dr. Harry Morris or Dr. Gene Mochan, tell them Deb from the AHEC said, “hi”.

  2. debrabaker Says:

    Do you have any advice for me regarding making myself as appealing to the admissions people?

    Did you work with Geisenger(sp)?

  3. katiekind Says:

    Got my fingers crossed on your behalf, Debra! Darn hard to type this way, but I’m doing my part! I’m so proud of you for the way you have pursued your dream!

  4. debrabaker Says:

    Even if I don’t make it, pursuing my dream has been an awesome experience.

    There are times when I’m walking to my first class and I feel so privileged to be given the opportunity to pursue my education. I think of my grandmom who grew up in rural Ireland. When her brothers went to fight in the Irish Rising, she was forced to quit school in order to help her family run their farm. I think she’s up in heaven smiling at me.

  5. Felecia Says:

    Hi Deb!

    Hope you’re doing well. This is rather random…but I somehow stumbled across your blog this morning. I’m currently in my 2nd year at PCOM and it’s always so exciting to hear when other students are as in love with the school as I was and still am:-)

    I wish you the best of luck on this journey and if you would ever like to sit in on a class or need some more advice about applications, MCATs, etc, please don’t hesitate to contact me at pcommapsliaison@yahoo.com.

    -Felecia
    D.O. c/o 2011

  6. debrabaker Says:

    Hey, Felecia,

    Do you know John Clark? He’s a 2nd year as well.

    I would love to shadow you through your class if you can stand it. I must warn you, I am a very, ahem, non-traditional student.

  7. Felecia Says:

    Hi Deb!

    Yes…I do know John, actually. He’s a great guy:-) And as for being a “non-traditional” student…that’s not a problem…we actually have a few “non-traditional” students in our current class. If you can, please e-mail me at feleciasi@pcom.edu and we can hopefully coordinate a time in the near future. I’m not sure if I’ll be able to check this site again anytime soon. Good luck with everything and hope to hear from you soon!

  8. debrabaker Says:

    Thanks

Leave a Reply

