Weight Loss and Body Image

I was just reading Hippy Chick”s blog about her weight loss after lap band surgery and I want to share my experiences with weight loss. Warning: it is not as compelling a story, so you might be a bit bored.

I was a thin child and teenager. Heck, I even regained my figure after having my first four children. For me, Number Five was the charm. I kept 5lbs after Jeanette, and five pounds after Josh, Joseph, and Julianna. Then, I rounded up some of the weight and landed on the heavy side of the scale. In plain English, I was about 190 lbs after the dust settled. After I had Julianna, I went on a diet and started TaiBo and lost a good 30 pounds.

Then I gained 15 back.

Last year, I gave up karate (long story,) and started hitting the gym 3 days/week. I recently went on some meds that make me nauseous and I added Yoga into my regular activities. The weight started coming off. I’m not sure if its the meds, the exercise, or a combination of the two, but I’ve lost over 25 pounds and went from a size 14-16 into 10’s.  i haven’t fit into a size 10 since I had Jonathan. I haven’t been 148  pounds since before I had Jeanette (I was 27 and 29 when I had Jonathan and Jeanette.)

But I still feel like a fat chick. I still see a fat chick in the mirror. I have some excess abdominal skin from losing weight (it freaking looks like pizza dough.) I don’t know if my mind will eventually catch up with the reality of my body or if the fat chick will always live inside the normal-weight body.

I am reminded of this cartoon.

3 Responses to “Weight Loss and Body Image”

  1. Andrea Says:

    Hahaha! So, so true!

    I actually got down to a weight I haven’t been since freshman year of college for me (that was 2000-2001). My mom lectures me that I’m TOO skinny, but I’m happy that I lost all my baby weight and more – I credit breastfeeding a very busy little man for that! I do try and temper my self-satisfaction though, that one day, after 3 or 4 more kiddos, I may not be so svelte. But as long as I’m healthy, I’ll be happy! Keep up the GREAT work – your family is beautiful, and I love your goals!

  2. debrabaker Says:

    Thank you for the kind words about my family and my goals.

    My mom is starting to lecture me about needing a little bit of extra weight in case I get sick and my daughter, Jeanette, is suggesting I have an eating disorder.

    I have a body image disorder, but not particularly eating.

    I lost two more pounds, too (down to 146.)

  3. debrabaker Says:

    woo-hoo, I’m 140.5

Leave a Reply

